Storybook Weekend

Have you ever felt like you just lived through a story out of a book? This is what my weekend felt like. I had an interesting trip and a vivid dream to end the weekend.

A little background on me: My family and I moved across the US when I was only 10 years old. I have only been back home twice (including this weekend) in the past 19 years. We recently moved back across the US about 4 months ago and are now only 6 hours away from my family. I was in second grade when my grandmother on my mother’s side passed, and was not able to come home to say goodbye to my grandfather or aunt from my mother’s side 12 and 8 years (respectively) ago.

This past Friday my husband and I drove my mother home to say goodbye to her uncle. It was an emotional day, and though I did not know him, he was buried in the same cemetery as my grandparents and aunt. Needless to say I was filled with emotion seeing my grandmother’s grave again and seeing my grandfather’s and aunt’s graves for the first time. I also met family members I never knew I had, along with seeing family members I have either, only seen once in 19 years or haven’t seen since we left 19 years ago.

Saturday we had a HUGE family barbecue where we reminisced about old times and made new memories. Now, when I say huge, I’m talking “My Big Fat Greek Wedding” huge! We laughed and loved and ate, and ate, and ate! Sunday morning we had one last meal with several family members and made the 6 hour drive home.

It was Sunday evening that I had a dream so vivid I awoke in the middle of the night insisting that my husband take me to the ER!

Current Read: Thunderlight by Adrienne Woods- about dragons (whom can take human form), their riders (humans with abilities matching that of their dragons), and young love. (See full synopsis at the bottom of the page).

Right before bed Sunday I had finished a section of the book where our main character, Elena, had ingested what is called fire powder. Fire powder allows dragons to taste their food vividly while in their human form. Elena, not being a dragon at all, accidentally sips a dragon’s tea containing fire powder and has this overwhelming sensation of burning from the inside out with a racing heartbeat and a clammy yet fiery sensation in her skin.

So what did I dream Sunday? I had a dream that I was in the Thunderlight world of Dragonia and I had taken a sip of drink containing fire powder. My heart beat was racing, my body felt numb, yet on fire at the same time. I awoke gasping for air, jittery and nervous, begging my husband to take me to the ER because I thought I was having a heart attack! Once he calmed me down, I realized it was just a dream.

I had spent the whole weekend thinking “man I feel like I’m in a story,” and ended the weekend actually dreaming that I was!

Leave a Reply

