Hunting Prince Dracula by Kerri Maniscalco & Joining The Calendar Girls

Hello lovelies! I just finished reading the ARC of Hunting Prince Dracula by Kerri Maniscalco, and it was better than I imagined! But, before I get into a spoiler free review, I wanted to share that I decided to participate in a monthly blog event called Calendar Girls, hosted by Melanie Bernard and Flavia The Bibliophile.

calendar-girl-blog-graphic

What this means is that each month there is a theme voted on, and with that theme, we write blog posts about a book that we each feel fits that theme. Then we take part in a rousing, fun discussion on our picks! The first Monday of each month is when we post our book picks on our individual blogs (I’m late this month since I just found out about it today) and the third Monday of each month we participate in a Twitter discussion.

I am super excited to participate in this and am looking forward to meeting some awesome new bloggers! Please visit Melanie and Flavia (links above) for more information and to show their amazing blogs some love!

So this month’s Calendar Girls theme was Best Sequel. Hence the title, Hunting Prince Dracula. Hunting Prince Dracula by Kerri Maniscalco is the sequel to her amazing book, Stalking Jack The Ripper, and my pick for this month’s book choice.

Best Sequel Choice:

Hunting Prince Dracula will have you on the edge of your seat. This book will immerse you in to the world of Vlad, The Impaler and will fill you suspicion of his existence. Danger and murder lurk around every corner!

The Plot: Hunting Prince Dracula follows Audrey Rose Wadsworth and Thomas Creswell in the aftermath of solving the Jack The Ripper murders in London. On their way to enroll in a prestigious forensic science school in Romania, they encounter myth, murder, and mayhem. Does Prince Dracula actually exist? Can the pair solve the murders all while keeping themselves alive and un-distracted by their growing feelings for each other?

I loved this book so much more than the first one! It held all the same intrigue and mystery, as well as adding new characters and mythological elements. Audrey Rose is still one my favorite female characters. She is strong and brave, and yet, possibly experiencing some ptsd in the aftermath of discovering the truth about Jack The Ripper in book one. Thomas Cresswell is as charming as ever. Still flirtatious as ever, and adds just enough sexual innuendo to make you roll your eyes and smile at the same time.

Kerri immerses us in to the history and mythology behind Vlad, The Impaler. The story takes place inside his castle, serving as a setting for a school of forensics (how fitting!). You will find plenty of foreshadowing in the beginning of the story, as well as mystery, doubt, murder, intrigue, and romance throughout this epic sequel to Stalking Prince Dracula!

Thank you to Hachette Book Group, Jimmy Patterson Books, and Little, Brown and Company for sending me this free review copy in exchange for my honest opinion!

Next month’s Calendar Girls theme is Best Shakespeare Play! So exciting!

48 thoughts on “Hunting Prince Dracula by Kerri Maniscalco & Joining The Calendar Girls

  1. No No No No No! You can’t have read this already! You just… can’t! ๐Ÿ˜ฅ I’m so upset right now because I REALLY wanted an ARC of this and now I just want it soooo much more! RAWR! But I’m very happy to hear how good it was and I can’t WAIT for it to come out! ๐Ÿ˜€

    P.s. I hope it’s not nearly as predictable as SJtR. Like… I figured out who Jack was in the first like… 100 pages. >.> But I loved the way Audrey Rose developed over the course of the story and, personally, that was the real story of the novel. ๐Ÿ™‚ (My review for SJtR actually comes out on Sunday! What are the odds. :p )

    Great choice and glad you’re participating! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh I loved it, and I really wanted to write a more in depth review, but I have not heard back from the publisher about their early review policy so I kept it short and simple.

      It’s not as predictable as the first, but still has the immense detail of research and historical imagery! Goodreads has an ARC giveaway and Kerri says she will be doing another giveaway soon on social media. I had emailed someone from Hachette Book Group with my address and was surprised with the book in the mail! ๐Ÿ˜€

      I really love Audrey Rose, and Thomas, oh man, such a flirt!

      I look forward to participating with the group for now on!! โค

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I emailed someone too, but I don’t think I have quite the rapsheet yet to be gifted any precious ARCs. (Plus… my reviews don’t always go over that well. ๐Ÿ˜‰ What can I say? I’m critical. :p)

        Either way, congrats on getting an ARC and I’m so happy to hear it was good! Can’t wait for it to come out! ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I was surprised I received it because I am certainly not well known in the blogger world yet, but I included my address in the email with my follower count on IG to make it easy on the person. I just got really lucky lol.

        Liked by 1 person

    2. I feel the same way! But I entered the Goodreads giveaway like she mentioned and hoping that I’ll be lucky. I emailed someone as well and I feel like I won’t add up to their expectations either ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I still love the series and can’t wait to read it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yaaaaaay I’m so excited that you picked this book and this series because I have been obsessing about them ever since seeing both of them on your Twitter! I really need to read both of them STAT. I’m glad that your review and post overall was spoiler free. You have to understand, that I don’t even read the plot summaries for sequels if I have not read the first book, because I’ve had series ruined by spoilers before.

    I am also so very glad to have you joining us, and I look forward to seeing which play you’ll be picking next month! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes you do! They are amazing! And I really do try to be spoiler free because I don’t feel like I can influence a reader to read something if I have given away the main points of the story. I am so glad to be a part of this group now!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think I might have given up on the first one too early and totally might need to read that just to read this one BECAUSE THIS SOUNDS AMAZING. Ever since I did a research paper on Dracula, I now feel the need to read anything about it. Plus, you made it sound soooooo good. I’ll definitely be picking this up. Wonderful choice and you totally convinced me! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know if I should kiss you or kill you (to get my hands on that arc) ๐Ÿ˜› !!
      But I already assume you are right and that this is gonna be even better than the first one!! And it was a 5* read for me!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol. If I could share it, I totally would. I had to shorten my review and leave out some fun quotes because I wasn’t sure what content I could share in my review. I had emailed the publisher to ask about their policy and have yet to get an answer.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

