YA Book Review

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

“The Ice Court had been built to withstand an onslaught of armies, assassins, Grisha, and spies. When she’d said as much to Kaz, he’d simply replied, ‘But it hasn’t been built to keep us out.” (Bardugo, p. 134).

Six of Crows is a fast paced, action packed adventure that is sure to thrill you! Think of Ocean’s Eleven meets old world Russia meets Dangerous Minds. This one is dark, gothic, gritty, and will keep you on the edge of your seat until the end!

The Plot: Kaz and his crew and have built their lives in the dangerous, seedy world of The Barrel, a place full of crooks and criminals. As part of one of the most successful gangs in Ketterdam, Kaz is approached and offered a job that will pay big. But can the most notorious crew of criminals and misfits pull off a heist so dangerous? Breaking in to the Ice Court (an unbreachable military stronghold) is impossible enough, but having to retrieve a hostage AND escape with their lives is downright futile. These six (a Breakfast Club or sorts) will be pushed to their ultimate limits, both with the heist and trying not to kill each other.

“A gambler, a convict, a wayward son, a lost Grisha, a Suli girl who had become a killer, a boy from the Barrel who had become something worse.” (Bardugo, p. 332).

Six of Crows started out a little slow and confusing for me (only the first chapter). This is set in the Grisha world, so I had to acclimate a little to the world references (you don’t have to read that series first though), but once I did, I could not stop reading! Bardugo took an Ocean’s Eleven type story (humor included) and set it in a complex, fascinating world full of danger and magic. The fantasy world that she built is absolutely incredible and the characters were multi-faceted and intriguing.

Kaz is our mysterious, swoon worthy character. Though, he is not interested in anything but criminal activity and revenge. He has an extremely dark, dangerous past and has made his living in a life of crime to get by. He is devious, ingenious, and calculating. He is the “Danny Ocean” of the story, but he has a devilish violent side.

“Kaz Brekker didn’t need a reason…to break a leg, sever an alliance, or change a man’s fortunes with the turn of a card.” (Bardugo, p. 15).

Inej is our “tough girl” of the story. She comes off as a tiny bit tropey with her love for knives, but her personality makes up for this. She is called the wraith for her skill of sneaking and climbing, and of course, because she is dangerous. With a past as dark as Kaz’s, if not darker, Inej is set on fighting and not being taken as a slave.

“…But I’ll die on my feet with a knife in my hand.” (Bardugo, p. 89).

Nina was one of my favorite characters. She is our Grisha. She, just like the rest, has had a grim past and has had to fight to stay alive simply because she exists. She is powerful and dangerous, and yet she is moral and good. She endures a transformation throughout the story and comes to terms with who she is and her relationship with others regarding it. She definitely has a big role at the end of the story during the heist.

“The air around her seemed to crackle, her skin glowing as if lit from within by something miraculous.” (Bardugo, p. 424).

All six of the characters are unique and add depth to the story. Bardugo did a fabulous job with this book. I could really imagine what Ketterdam and the Ice Court looked like, and I felt the danger and excitement that the crew felt during their planning and their mission. I am excited to read the next book to continue the story.

cropped-untitled51.png

9 thoughts on “Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

  1. I got myself the duology, but haven’t read it yet. I have it so hyped up in my mind, I don’t want to end up finding out it wasn’t for me. I know it probably won’t be that way, so I might just start them soon. Plus those red and black edges, how can I not lol.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I haven’t read those yet, but I’ve been hearing it would help accompany the duology a little better so I will probably start with those first.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

