Adult Book Review

Sacrifice by Andrew Boylan

The Book:

side+crop+of+paperback+image+TSTME (1)

Book Title: Sacrifice

Book Author: Andrew Boylan

Page Count: 197

Publishing Date: November 10th 2016

Publisher: Black Rose Writing

Date Read: July 18, 2017


amazon-button3
           banlink           goodreads

Divider

The Plot:

Struggling filmmaker, Benny Hernandez, returns home to New Mexico to find a story about drugs and related deaths. What he uncovers is much deadlier. As he films and photographs a mutilated body discovered in a car crash, he recognizes signs of something menacing. The bodies begin to pile up and everything leads to the stories he grew up with about an ancient cult from the Pueblo revolt in 1680. Has the cult risen again?

Divider

The Review:

“For ten years the people of the pueblos were rid of the priests and soldiers who tormented them with lies that obscured their history. During these years, free of the tyrannical rule of the Church Los Penitent was born. A small band of devout men called themselves the brothers of light, the brothers of blood…”

Sacrifice is a horrifying tale reminding us of what can happen when religious zealotry goes unchecked. This one blurs the line between fiction and fact. Prepare for suspense, horror, and death.

As with any book, there were things I loved and things I didn’t. The synopsis drew me in with the promise of horror and an intriguing story line of a mysterious cult. The author kept me reading with the astounding and gruesome imagery of the bodies being found. Sacrifice had that aspect of terror that struck fear in my heart and kept me wanting more!

The beginning of the book had a slow, confusing start for me. It did take me a while to get in to it and I found that I was befuddled by the multiple story lines happening. Though, they did join together for the ending, they were a little hard to follow. I also felt that some of the character flashbacks were a bit too long for the book and did not give me enough detail to develop the characters in my mind. The few things that I did not enjoy were enough to lower my book rating, but were not enough to keep me from enjoying the book or recommending it.

I enjoyed learning about The Penitents, for it seems that they did exist. I’m not sure how much is fact and how much is fiction in the book’s description, but it was certainly intriguing to read in the story. I thoroughly enjoyed the horror aspect of the book. I have had many disappointments in the horror genre this year, so it was refreshing to read something that truly portrayed gore and fear. The twist of the plot and the ending were certainly worth reading and made up for the bits that I did not enjoy.

I would give this one a 3.5-4 star rating, or 4 faeries since it is not polite to cut a faerie in half. I would consider re-reading this to see if I can get past the confusion I felt, now that I know how the story ends. The ending had an awesome, gruesome plot twist in regards to the history of the cult, and it definitely added to the nightmare that was brought to life by the author.

Untitled4

Thank you to NetGalley and Black Rose Writing for providing me with this free review copy in exchange for my honest opinion!

Divider

9 thoughts on “Sacrifice by Andrew Boylan

Leave a Reply

