YA Book Review

Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller

The Book: 

side+crop+of+paperback+image+TSTME (1)

Book Title: Mask of Shadows

Book Author: Linsey Miller

Page Count: 384

Publishing Date: August 29th 2017

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Date Read: July 25, 2017


amazon-button3
          banlink           goodreads

Divider

The Review:

Mask of Shadows is full of action and adventure. It will take you on a journey of betrayal and bloodshed. Prepare for murder, double-crossing, political plotting, and intrigue!

The Plot: As a highway robber, and a good one at that, Sal wants more from life. Sal wants revenge against the Erlend nobles for the murder of the Nacea people. Sal has an idea of who needs to be targeted, but has no way of getting close to them, until an opportunity arises. Sal finds a poster about an audition for the Queen’s Left Hand (a group of 4 trained, personal assassins) and decides to enter. Little does Sal know that it is a fight to death. Can Sal win the competition, the heart of a kind Erlend noble girl, and get revenge?

The beginning of this one had a rough start for me. It felt a little too forced, confusing, and slightly boring. It took me about 10% of the book before I finally got in to it. I thoroughly enjoyed the remaining 90%, though.

I loved the interesting backstory of Sal. I loved the idea of the Queen’s Left Hand. And, even though the competition thing is used a lot in YA books, I loved the idea and point of the competition and the things that I felt made it different from books like The Hunger Games.

I feel like the competition had a good reason behind it. The Queen was on the hunt for the best assassin in the country. An assassin must be fast, strong, skilled in multiple areas, and discreet. The rules of the competition were quite intriguing, and fit nicely with the search for the new member of The Left Hand.

The beginning of the book was a little disappointing, but easy to get past. I felt that the backstory and world history was thrown in too early, and in a confusing way. I also felt that Sal’s character seemed odd in the beginning, like they weren’t quite themselves. Once past this awkwardness, I was able to enjoy the story and Sal.

Sal was a fantastic character. They were brave, strong, curious, and dead set on a mission. They were always up for learning new things and working on their weaknesses. My favorite thing about Sal was how they went about describing themselves and how they dressed in the moment of feeling. Sal was a gender-fluid character, meaning when they didn’t feel like they conformed to just one gender. I really admire they way that Sal’s character was just naturally Sal, and it wasn’t made to be a book selling point. Yes, it is in the synopsis, but it felt natural to the story, and not forced.

I also loved our supporting character, Maud. Maud was our Darby to Lady Helen (Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman). She was sneaky, kind, curious, moral, and determined to make a better life for herself. She paired well with Sal and brought humor and intrigue to the book and competition.

I would definitely recommend this book and I will be waiting for the next installment! Was it the best? No. I would have liked more world building and less confusion in the beginning of the book, but it was still thrilling and enjoyable! I would give it 3.5-4 stars (or 4 faeries, since I do not want to face the wrath of cutting a faerie in half).

Untitled4

Divider

Thank you to NetGalley and Sourcebooks Fire for providing me with this free Advanced Reading E-copy in exchange for my honest review.


side+crop+of+paperback+image+TSTME (1)

Purple Heart on Facebook 2.1  Darque Dreamer  Purple Heart on Facebook 2.1

Blogger/ Punk Rocker / Quirky Housewife

amazon-button3banlinkgoodreadsgoodreads


12 thoughts on “Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller

  1. Ah I’m glad that you say this gets better! I’m currently on chapter ten and feel pretty conflicted… excited to keep reading now. ☺️
    Just followed you through Twitter, and love the layout of your blog so much! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I had the e-copy from NetGalley so I was right at 10% before the book started to make me want to keep reading. But I loved it after that and I think book 2 has great potential!!

      And thank you so much!! I had been going back and forth changing a few things and I am finally happy with the way it looks. I look forward to keeping up with your awesome blog! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I felt the same way! Especially about the world-building. But I, similarly, loved that the gender-fluidity was just a part of the character and not made a *thing* you know? It taught us what they felt without talking down to us or making us feel dumb.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahhh – lovely review. I completely agree. There were a number of ‘debut’ feels to this book but overall I came up to the same rating -3.5 rounded up to 4 stars. Definitely well worth the read and I cannot wait to see what Miller does with the next installment.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

