YA Book Review

Jackaby by William Ritter

The Book:

side+crop+of+paperback+image+TSTME (1)

Book Title: Jackaby

Book Author: William Ritter

Page Count: 299

Publishing Date: September 16th, 2014

Publisher:Algonquin Young Readers

Date Read: August 3rd, 2017


amazon-button3
           banlink           goodreads

Divider

The Review: 

Jackaby is unlike anything you have read before. It is full of humor and the macabre. This one will give you a Sherlock Holmes type feel with Doctor Who style comedy!

“For a man who professes to be entirely rational and scientific, he can’t seem to steer clear of the impossible and magical.”

The Plot: Abigail Rook wants nothing more than to be free of her parents and school obligations. So she runs away from home, in search of adventure and a means of living. Luckily, she comes across the quirky R.F. Jackaby, who offers her both. But she soon finds out there is more to the man and the job than just the odd rumors running around town. Abigail gets the adventure of a lifetime, following Detective Jackaby on his supernatural investigations through New Fiddleham, England, hunting a serial killer that may not be human.

“Monsters are easy, Miss Rook. They’re monsters. But a monster in a suit? That’s basically just a wicked man, and a wicked man is a more dangerous thing by far.”

Oh my, did I love this one!! Jackaby was incredibly humorous and entertaining! I don’t think I have laughed this much while reading, ever! the Chicago Tribune described this one as “Sherlock Holmes crossed with Buffy the Vampire Slayer,” which is pretty accurate, but there is a Doctor Who feel to it as well. I seriously could not put this one down! Took me less than 5 hours to read, and my husband kept asking me what I was laughing at!

“There’s a jar in my office marked ‘Bail.’ If you don’t hear from me by tonight just bring it down to the Mason Street station, would you? I’m usually in the first or second cell.”

Jackaby has an amazing, macabre plot. It has plenty of twists and surprises. It is full of humor and fun. It explores multiple fantastical creatures and ideas, and has incredible characters.

“The chief inspector interrupted. ‘No, no, let me guess: the culprit is…’ He paused for mock dramatic effect. ‘Not human?'”

R.F. Jackaby is a self proclaimed, supernatural investigator. He is also a “seer”, which means he can see all the supernatural creatures that others only dream of. He has the personality of The Doctor, and the investigative skills of Sherlock. He is quirky, strange, mildly handsome, and has no one to rival his wit except for Abigail.

“I am a man of reason and science. I believe what I can see or prove, and what I can see is often difficult for others to grasp. I have a gift that is, as far as I have found, unique to me. It allows me to see truth where others see illusion…”

Abigail is a fantastic character, similar to Audrey Rose from Stalking Jack The Ripper. She is intelligent, daring, and brave. She likes to rise above what is expected of a woman in her time and she has no qualms about going on an adventure, hard work, or dressing like a boy to accomplish her goals!

“…some of us have more pressing matters to attend to than practicing our curtsies and turning foolishly sized bonnets into topiaries.”

I am so excited to dive further in to this series. Jackaby is the funniest book I have ever read and I could not stop smiling! This one gets all the stars!

cropped-untitled51.png

Divider


side+crop+of+paperback+image+TSTME (1)

Purple Heart on Facebook 2.1 Darque Dreamer Purple Heart on Facebook 2.1

Blogger/ Punk Rocker / Quirky Housewife

amazon-button3banlinkgoodreadsgoodreads


39 thoughts on “Jackaby by William Ritter

  1. “Sherlock Holmes crossed with Buffy the Vampire Slayer,” ummm yes please! 🙌🏼 this honestly sounds so good! And those quotes are so funny 😂😂😂 I already have this character pictured in my head smh, I was just about to look into this book on Goodreads based off your recommendation. So glad I dipped into your blog on my phone & saw this review 😆def p/u a copy 🤗 wonderful review! 🖤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, this book sounds like a blast!! Plus, a supernatural investigator? So cooooool.

    And oh my, I can’t help but be intrigued by the name “Jackaby”– there’s so many puns you could make with that name. And rhymes. And poems.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve had this sitting on my shelf for years now – I really need to get around to reading it, especially since the series is wrapping up! I love Sherlock Holmes and I’ve seen this compared to it quite a bit so I think I’d really enjoy it. Glad to see you really liked this one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

